A FEARFUL STATE. WHAT HAS HAPPENED TO COMMUNITY?

There are people now living in fear. They are alone. They have nobody. What has happened to community whereas this can happen?

I will say that my husband and I are in this fearful position. There seems to be no remedy. Many people said that the pandemic would lead to a greater sense of community when the pandemic was over. It has actually made matters worse, and of course the pandemic is not yet really over. We still have many people still getting Covid, some for a second the third time.

There is little opportunity nowadays to go out there and make friends, especially when you are a bit older. If you have no family then you are sunk. I well remember when we needed that light bulb changing not too long ago, it was assumed that we had a family member who would help, or a neighbour. We had not. It was hard getting anyone to understand that. It was actually quite frightening, emphasising the precarious position we are in. And if one of us goes. What then?

We have also met the ridiculous position whereby even the church can no longer be friends with people. Whether one believes in God or not is not the issue. The church used to see itself as a caring community and it did not matter if one believed in God or not. But now, there is Safeguarding. This has become a millstone around everyone’s necks because of all the abuse that has gone on. Admittedly this was a serious problem and needed addressing. But now, no one is allowed to visit us in our home because they might abuse us or we might make a false allegation against them. Even in church, two people are not allowed to be in, for instance, the kitchen, together. There has to be another person there too. This is breaking up friendships and community. In our efforst to break our own isolation we did turn to the church where we went in the past, and were told that no one can visit us because of this. We are thus left alone.

We are in the position whe we can only turn to a befriending service whereby someone would come for an hour once a week, but we would have to pay a lot for that. Paying for friendship. What the hell……….

In any case, we have been told that we do not qualify for a befriending service.

I ask again, whatever happened to community? Back in the fifties this would not have hhappened. In fact it would not have happened in the sixties either.

Every day we live with fear. We keep trying to push it down and just get on with things, but it comes up in the end. It is there and it is not irrational. It is real. I wonder how many other people live with this fear? I bet there a lot.

10 thoughts on “A FEARFUL STATE. WHAT HAS HAPPENED TO COMMUNITY?

  1. Yes, I will more so when older and not working.
    Although I have a few friends, I still have been in a position where I am on my own and I know it will happen again.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jai

    I’m so sorry it is like this for you, Lorraine. I don’t think it is like this in the U. S. And, besides having family, I also have a couple of neighbors who would help if need be. I can’t imagine being in your position. 💖

    Liked by 1 person

  3. jai

    I wish you did too. It’s far from perfect here, but I’ve never heard of anyone not getting help from social services when needed. And our churches step up and help lots of people.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I suppose it depends on the community. I keep the spare key for an older lady across the road, and I am the first response if she presses her alarm. Most people in Beetley would help someone change a lightbulb, or make a minor repair out of kindness. People wil offer to take your dog for a walk when you are ill, and I am currently feeding next door’s cat while they are away for a few days.
    Your local community is sadly lacking in kindness, Lorraine.
    Best wishes, Pete. x

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This is so sad Lorraine. I’ve read other accounts in other parts of the UK and your area seems to be the worst. I wish you were here and I’m sure you could get what you need – even if it is only to change a light bulb!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment