#DAILY WRITING PROMPT #1919

https://blindwilderness.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post-new.php?post_type=post&calypsoify=1&answer_prompt=1919

The Daily Writing Prompt asks us when we last took a risk and how it worked out

The last time that I took a real risk was just after my father had died. Suddenly we realised how short life was, we being me and my husband. Over and over again the phrase kept coming to us, “DO IT NOW.” Four days after my father’s death I had to travel from my home county to Derbyshire for a Tutor’s Conference. I was a tutor in a college. It was July, and as I drove out of Sheffield over the hill and into Derbyshire, the sun was just beginning to light up the hills. Stunned by the beauty it suddenly came to me that we would go to live in that place. I tried to quash the feeling as we had a house in my hometown and we had had no plans to move although we wanted to. Houses were not selling at the time.

The following week we went on a week’s holiday in Derbyshire to have some peace and rest after my father’s death and as we were travelling along in our car one day we saw a cottage with a “To Let” sign outside. We both looked at each other and we knew what we were going to do. And we did. We range the agent and looked round the cottage there and then. It was ridiculous. We had had no plans to move. The cottage would have been no good for us anyway, but as we said to the agent that it was not suitable, he told us that he had another one to let in Tideswell a little way away. We had never heard of Tideswell but we said that we would look round it. We followed him in our car to the village and to a row of tiny stone built cottages. We went inside and lookd round and as we stood in the tiny living room I heard myself saying to the agent,

“We’ll take it.” What on earth was I doing? We had little money and a mortgage on our house back in my home county. My husband agreed and nodded as I said these words.

Four weeks later we moved into the tiny cottage. We had never taken such a risk in our lives but we spent the happiest eight months of our lives in that cottage and following that we moved to a bigger one. Then we managed to sell our house and we found another one that we could afford in Chapel en le Frith in Derbyshire and it all seemed like a miracle. We had never been peopl,e for taking risks, but this one worked out perfectly. We had eight wonderful years in Derbyshire and then we had to return to my home county as my husband had to give up work due to his post polio syndrome. We could no longer afford to live in Derbyshire. And yes, I would do it all over again if I could

2 thoughts on “#DAILY WRITING PROMPT #1919

Leave a comment