AN UNFORTUNATE PHONE CALL

I just received a phone call that turned out to be most unfortunate and it has taught me something that I think I already knew. It has shaken me up and I realise just how easy it is for people to scam you. Being blind and housebound makes one extremely vulnerable and we can be prey to others. I have asked the question in here before about whether you can in reality only trust yourself and I am veering towards that position. We all have to protect and guard ourselves and we only make good friends over a period of time. It is very sad when you end up isolated and alone in your life after having once had lots of friends but it seems to me that that is how it is for some people. It is is how it has to be for us. Sad.

5 thoughts on “AN UNFORTUNATE PHONE CALL

  1. Do you not have an answerphone message set up, Lorraine? I never answer the phone these days, and if whoever is calling fails to leave a message, I presume it is either nothing important, or a scammer.

    Best wishes, Pete. x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. blindzanygirl

    It was a call that had already been set up that I thought was a genuine one, it was an expected call by someone who claimed tp Be blind. However, I realised during the conversation that the person was not blind at all and was not training a guide dog as claimed Butbwas trying to gain access, to my home. Disabled people are often homed in on by scammers who are exceptionally clever. Obviously sh did not gain access to my home. I do have a nessage, facility on my phone but being blind I can’t get to them. I could not ring people back anyway because I can’t see the numbers to press. When you get to the position me and
    Husband are in you discover some harsh realities, but it not until you get like us that you realise them. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment